P.D. Thomas Award

"Delivering the Future" because that's what we do: Deliver the future—in the form of instructional materials—to Texas schoolchildren.


In 2009, the P.D. Thomas Award was established to honor an outstanding Texas instructional materials coordinators for achievement and excellence in  instructional materials administration. P.D. Thomas (1951–2022) was a founding father of the Instructional Materials Coordinators' Association of Texas (IMCAT), formerly known as the Textbook Coordinators' Association of Texas (TCAT) formed in 1991. His lifelong career in education spanned over 40 years, and he served as a teacher, coach, administrator, and textbook coordinator. He was an incredibly valuable and accessible resource for instructional materials coordinators new to the profession.

Award and Sponsor

The P.D. Thomas Award recipient receives a plaque and official recognition during the President’s Lunch at the annual IMCAT Conference.

Performance Criteria

The P.D. Thomas Award recipient will be selected for exhibiting leadership in the following areas:

  • Dedication and Support of IMCAT
  • Instructional Materials Coordinator-TEA/State Relations
  • Instructional Materials Coordinator-Community Relations
  • Dedication to Educating Fellow Coordinators
  • Outstanding Instructional Materials Management
  • Professionalism

Selection Procedure

The Nominating Committee consists of three past IMCAT Presidents. The immediate past president shall chair the nominating committee and recruit two IMCAT Past-Presidents. The nominating committee will accept nominations, discuss performance criteria, and bring all qualified candidates to the board for a vote at November Board Meeting. Current IMCAT board members are not allowed to be nominated for the award. Written nominations will be accepted through IMCAT board members. Nominations end November 1 of the selection year.

Congratulations to the 2022 P.D. Thomas Award Recipient Susan Lenox (Formerly of Plano ISD)!

IMCAT is proud to recognize Susan Lenox, the 2022 recipient of the annual P.D. Thomas Award. Susan is a former IMCAT board member who coordinated instructional materials for Plano ISD for more than 20 years. She was instrumental in starting IMCAT's mentor program, implementing the IMCAT Summer Institute across the state, developing innovative ideas to strengthen I.M. Texas, IMCAT's annual conference, and so much more. Congratulations, Susan!

Past P.D. Thomas Award Honorees

2009: P.D. Thomas, Allen ISD
2010: Bert Curtis, Garland ISD
2011: Anne Tweedt, Humble ISD
2012: Chuck Kennedy, Irving ISD
2013: Mike Fowler, Pasadena ISD
2014: Ann McGuffey, Duncanville ISD
2015: Karla Christman, Brazosport ISD
2016: Brian Squyres, Northside ISD
2017: Steve Hanson, Galena Park ISD
2018: Abel Villarreal, Corpus Christi ISD
2019: John Bridges, Fort Bend ISD
2020: Dana Wiest, Ector County ISD
2022: Susan Lenox, Plano ISD


IMCAT Partners